Course Description

Java with BlueJ

All future communication will take place via Google Classroom with Ms. Lopez

Wednesday, March 11

looked at completed student work;
completed working on GUI redo of the Treasure Hunt game

Tuesday, March 10

???

Monday, March 9

demonstrated how to merge old Treasure Hunt code with the GUI code;
continued working on GUI redo of the Treasure Hunt game;
GUI Treasure Hunt due Wednesday


Friday, March 6

???

Thursday, March 5

continued working on GUI redo of the Treasure Hunt game;
due next Wednesday

Wednesday, March 4

???

Tuesday, March 3

discussed details about a GUI redo of the Treasure Hunt game;
started working on it (due next Wednesday)

Monday, March 2

???


Friday, February 29

looked at some of the completed loan calculators;
began talking about a GUI redo of the Treasure Hunt game

Thursday, February 28

Worked on Triangle packet – 18 triangles due Friday March 6th

Wednesday, February 26

looked at some of the completed interfaces;
continued working on the loan payment calculator;
continue working on the loan payment calculator (due Friday)

Tuesday, February 25

Similar triangle short cuts (notes)

Monday, February 24

discussed parsing Strings into doubles, and converting doubles into Strings;
continued working on the loan payment calculator;
continue working on the loan payment calculator (due Wednesday??)


Friday, February 21

Notes to watch

Thursday, February 20

discussed the appearance of this loan payment calculator;
began working on the loan payment calculator;
continue working on the loan payment calculator (due Wednesday)

Wednesday, February 19

???

Tuesday, February 18

discussed/demonstrated a GUI template for starting a project;
using the template, start piecing together a loan payment calculating program

Monday, February 17

???


Friday, February 14

viewed some of the finished icons;
finished working on icon

Thursday, February 13

???

Wednesday, February 12

demonstrated the g.fillPolygon() method;
continued working on icon;
icon due at the end of class on Friday

Tuesday, February 11

???

Monday, February 10

demonstrated drawing on a JPanel placed within a JFrame;
discussed screen coordinates;
demonstrated AWT Graphics methods;
create/draw an icon (due Friday)


Friday, January 31

???

Thursday, January 30

group coded a String method that would remove the vowels from an incoming String parameter;
discussed/viewed some common GUI objects

Wednesday, January 29

4.8 Geometric transformations, click here for notes and homework

Tuesday, January 28

discussed/demonstrated variable scope;
read:  173-177 (methods)

Monday, January 27

4.3-4.5 Questions + Quiz


Friday, January 24

discussed Wednesday’s quiz over arrays;
looked at some of the student code for the Treasure Hunt program (due today)

Thursday, January 23

4.3-4.5 notes (Click here to watch)

Wednesday, January 22

quiz over arrays;
worked on the Treasure Hunt program (due Friday);
continue working on the Treasure Hunt program

Tuesday, January 21

4.2

Monday, January 20

group-coded some more details of the Treasure Hunt program (due Friday);
quiz over arrays on Wednesday:
continue working on the Treasure Hunt program


Friday, January 17

???

Thursday, January 16

further discussed/demonstrated methods;
began discussing details of writing a Treasure Hunt program

Wednesday, January 15

???

Tuesday, January 14

began discussing/demonstrating classes and methods, modularization, reuse of code;
read:  pp.169-172 (fields)

Monday, January 13

???


Friday, January 8

finished group discussion #6 on p. 165 (due Tuesday);
read:  pp.167-168 (classes and methods)

Thursday, January 9

???

Wednesday, January 8

demonstrated usage of the sort method from the Arrays package;
began group discussion of the next coding task;
start on #6 on p. 165 (due Tuesday)

Tuesday, January 7

???

Monday, January 6

defined/discussed 2-arrays;
demonstrated usage of a 2-D array with a 2-D random walk simulator;
read:  pp. 157-158; 162-164 (parallel arrays & Array utilities in Java class libraries)


Monday, December 16

reviewed programs written this semester in preparation for semester exam (1:35 Wednesday afternoon)


Friday, December 13

???

Thursday, December 12

reviewed/contrasted student work on the current program;
explained/demonstrated how a String array is used to accept command-line arguments when a program is called;
those who haven’t–get it done by Monday

Wednesday, December 11

???

Tuesday, December 10

discussed details of the letter frequency counter program (due Thursday)

Monday, December 9

???


Friday, December 6

discussed/demonstrated the enhanced for loop;
wrote and discussed a random walk simulation using a 1-dimensional array;
briefly discussed our next program (found in the Teacher folder) involving finding the letter frequency in a text sample;
get started on the letter frequency counter program

Thursday, December 5

???

Wednesday, December 4

did more demonstration with 1-dimensional arrays;
read: pp. 154-156 (The enhanced for & String parameters to the main method)

Tuesday, December 3

???

Monday, December 2

discussed the quiz over methods of common classes;
defined/discussed/demonstrated 1-dimensional arrays;
read:  pp. 149-153 (1-D arrays)


Thursday, November 21

3.4 Slope of lines

Wednesday, November 20

quiz over methods of common classes

Tuesday, November 19

3.3 Quiz + 3.4 Slope of lines

Monday, November 18

looked at some student programs;
discussed handout that summarized the methods we’d been using out of chapter 4;
quiz Wednesday over chapter 4


Friday, November 15

3.2-3.3

Thursday, November 14

examined some student work and suggested fixes;
continue working on #19 on p.140 (due Monday)

Wednesday, November 13

3.1 and 3.2 Quiz + review test 2+Begin 3.3
HW:Complete 3.3 notes

Tuesday, November 12

discussed details of the current program we’re working on;
continue working on #19 on p.140 (due next Monday instead of this Thursday)

Monday, November 11

Complete 3.1 +3.2
HW:150: 9 -43 odd


Friday, November 8

discussed/demonstrated techniques for reading and analyzing Strings with numeric data;
start working on #19 on p.140 (due next Thursday)

Thursday, November 7

Compete chapter 2 Test + 3.1
HW: None

Wednesday, November 6

tested and viewed some of the encryption programs;
briefly looked at methods in the Math class and the Integer class
read:  pp.134-139 (the Math class and the Integer class);
looking ahead:  start thinking about #19 on p.140 (due next Thursday)

Tuesday, November 5

Chapter 2 Test
HW: 146 all

Monday, November 4

further discussed/demonstrated aspects of doing the encryption program;
continue working on a program that will have the following selections on a menu:
1)  encrypt a phrase
2) decrypt a phrase
3) QUIT
the program must use a password-seeded random number generator to encrypt the characters (due Wednesday)


Friday, November 1

Chapter 2 Review
HW: 898 1-41 odd

Thursday, October 31

discussed/demonstrated aspects of doing the encryption program;
continue working on a program that will have the following selections on a menu:
1)  encrypt a phrase
2) decrypt a phrase
3) QUIT
the program must use a password-seeded random number generator to encrypt the characters (due next Wednesday)

Wednesday, October 30

2.6 Quiz + 2.7 Proofs involving angle pairs (Notes)
HW: 127 #3-27 odd – Quiz Tuesday 11/5

Tuesday, October 29

demonstrated a palindrome-checking program;
discussed/shared how to transform a password into a random number generating seed;
begin working on a program that will have the following selections on a menu:
1)  encrypt a phrase
2) decrypt a phrase
3) QUIT
the program must use a password-seeded random number generator to encrypt the characters (due next Wednesday)

Monday, October 28

2.6 Proof involving segments and angles
HW: 2.6 Worksheet – Quiz Wednesday


Friday, October 25

discussed classes and objects, in contrast with primitive types;
looked at methods of the Random class and the Character class;
read:  pp. 120-124 (the Character class)

Thursday, October 24

???

Wednesday, October 23

discussed dice rolling probability;
demonstrated a 2-dimensional random walk;
p.119 #2 dice rolling simulation (due Friday)

Tuesday, October 22

???

Monday, October 21

further developed a menu-driven program that does units conversion;
discussed the next program;
p.119 #2 dice rolling simulation (due Friday)


Wednesday – Friday, October 16-18

Homeleave

 

Tuesday, October 15

2.5 Algebraic Proof Stations
HW: None

Monday, October 14

quiz over the for & do-while loops, the switch statement, and the Random class;
d