Precalculus Assignments Blog

/Precalculus Assignments Blog
Precalculus Assignments Blog 2017-10-17T18:50:08+00:00

Course Description

Tuesday October 17

no class, due to Senior Class Trip

Monday October 16

no class, due to Senior Class Trip


Friday October 13

discussed test 2

Thursday October 12

test 2;
read 158-165 (exponentials)

Wednesday October 11

discussed quiz 2;
reviewed chapter 2;
test 2 postponed until tomorrow

Tuesday October 10

quiz 2;
test 2 tomorrow

Monday October 9

discussed p. 145 problems;
reviewed for quiz;
quiz tomorrow over the last two sections in chapter 2;
test 2 on Wednesday


Friday October 6

no class, due to Fall Festival preparations

Thursday, October 5

discussed p.138;
discussed non-linear inequalities;
p.145 #2-8, 18-22, 30-34 even

Wednesday, October 4

discussed yesterday’s quiz;
discussed rational functions;
worked examples from the problem set;
p.138 #2-6, 10-14, 20-26, 32-36 even

Tuesday, October 3

quiz over polynomials;
read:  130-137 (rational functions)

Monday, October 2

discussed everything missed last week by those gone on Power Outreach;
quiz tomorrow over polynomials


Friday, September 29

continued working on p.127 #2, 4, 10-14, 18-22, 32-36, 42, 44, 52, 54 even;
quiz next Tuesday over polynomials

Thursday, September 28

continued working on p.127 #2, 4, 10-14, 18-22, 32-36, 42, 44, 52, 54 even

Wednesday, September 27

discussed “old” techniques of finding zeros of polynomials;
p.127 #2, 4, 10-14, 18-22, 32-36, 42, 44, 52, 54 even

Tuesday, September 26

worked examples from p. 115 (due tomorrow)

Monday, September 25

no class, due to View Southern


Friday, September 22

discussed factoring polynomials;
worked sample problems from the problem set using long division;
p.115 #2-6, 16, 20-26, 32-36 even (due next Wednesday, since there is no class on Monday)

Thursday, September 21

discussed properties and analysis of polynomials;
worked sample problems from the problem set;
p.104 #4-8, 12-18, 24-30 even

Wednesday, September 20

discussed power and radical functions;
p.92 #2-8, 18-24 even

Tuesday, September 19

discussed test over chapter 1;
start looking over p.92 #2-8, 18-24 even (due Thursday)

Monday, September 18

test over chapter 1;
read:  86-91 (power and radical functions)


 Friday, September 8

no class, due to Community Outreach Day

Thursday, September 7

quiz 1.2 ;
test 1 on Monday; BWCA participants need to take it before leaving Sunday

Wednesday, September 6

discussed p.70 HW;
reviewed for quiz and test;
quiz 1.2 tomorrow;
test 1 on Monday; BWCA participants need to take it before leaving Sunday

Tuesday, September 5

discussed p.61 HW;
discussed inverse functions;
p.70 #2-12, 14-20 even

Monday, September 4

discussed p.52 HW;
discussed arithmetic with functions and function composition;
p.61 #2-8, 16-32 even


Friday, September 1

discussed yesterday’s quiz;
discussed transformations;
discussed a few problems from the problem set;
p.52 #2-10, 20, 22, 32-36 even

Thursday, August 31

quiz over first half of chapter 1;
read:  pp.45-51

Wednesday, August 30

discussed yesterday’s HW set;
reviewed what we’ve done so far in chapter 1;
quiz tomorrow 

Tuesday, August 29

discussed extrema and average rates of change;
worked examples from the HW set;
p. 40 #2-8, 12-16, 34-38 even 

Monday, August 28

worked examples from the HW set;
finish up on p. 30 #2-10, 14, 16, 22-28 even (due tomorrow)


Friday, August 25

no class, due to senior survival

Thursday, August 24

discussed HW;
discussed limits and continuity;
worked examples from the HW set;
p. 30 #2-10, 14, 16, 22-28 even (due Tuesday)

Wednesday, August 23

discussed line & point symmetry, even & odd functions, piecewise functions, domain and range descriptions;
p. 19 #10-28 even

Tuesday, August 22

discussed Friday’s quiz;
continued working examples from the HW set;
pp. 9-11 #2-10, 18-28, 30-32, 40-44, 48, 50 even

Monday, August 21

reviewed the concept and properties of a function;
worked examples from the HW set;
pp. 9-11 #2-10, 18-28, 30-32, 40-44, 48, 50 even (due Wednesday)


Friday, August 18

quiz over chapter 0;
read:  pp. 4-8 (functions)

Thursday, August 17

reviewed chapter 0;
quiz tomorrow over chapter 0

Wednesday, August 16

discussed homework;
discussed performing statistical calculations with a spreadsheet;
p. P37 #2-10 even

Tuesday, August 15

discussed homework;
discussed permutations and combinations;
p. P31 #2-20 even

Monday, August 14

discussed homework;
discussed properties of roots and exponents;
p. P17 #2-22 even


Friday, August 11

discussed homework;
discussed properties of quadratic equations;
p. P13 #8, 10, 16, 24, 28, 32, 36, 42, 46

Thursday, August 10

discussed operations with complex numbers;p. P8 #2-32, 38-42 even

Wednesday, August 9

discussed pretest;
discussed set notation and operations;p. P5 #2-30 even

Tuesday, August 8

pretest;read pp. P3-P4

Monday, August 7

explained course content;
reviewed Algebra II concepts;
pretest tomorrow