Course Description

Tuesday, September 17

further discussed the details of finding zeros of polynomials;
worked on yesterday’s problem set

Monday, September 16

discussed the details of finding zeros of polynomials;
p.127 #2, 4, 10-14, 18-22, 32-36, 42, 44, 52, 54 even (due before you leave on Wednesday)


Tuesday, September 10

discussed problems from p. 115;
discussed finding zeros of any polynomial

Monday, September 9

discussed problems from p. 104;
discussed long division and synthetic division with polynomials;
p.115#2-6, 16, 20-26, 32-36 even


Friday, September 6

discussed p. 92 problems;
discussed characteristics of polynomials;
p.104 #4-8, 12-18, 24-30 even

Thursday, September 5

discussed test 1;
discussed power and radical functions;
p.92 #2-8, 18-24 even

Wednesday, September 4

test 1;
read:  pp. 86-91 (power and radical functions)

Tuesday, September 3

discussed quiz 1.2;
reviewed chapter 1;
test 1 on tomorrow

Monday, September 2

quiz 1.2;
test 1 on Wednesday


Friday, August 30

reviewed lessons 5-7 of chapter 1;
quiz 1.2 on Monday

Thursday, August 29

discussed inverse functions;
p.70 #2-20 even

Wednesday, August 28

discussed yesterday’s homework;
finish up p.61 #2-12, 16-32 even

Tuesday, August 27

discussed transformation on functions;
discussed arithmetic and composition of functions;
p.61 #2-12, 16-32 even

Monday, August 26

discussed quiz 1.1;
discussed transformation on functions;
p.52 #2-10, 20, 22, 32-36 even


Friday, August 23

quiz 1.1;
read:  pp. 45-51 (transformations on functions)

Thursday, August 22

discussed previous HW set;
quiz tomorrow over what we’ve done so far in chapter 1

Wednesday, August 21

discussed previous HW set;
discussed extrema and average rate of change;
worked examples from the problem set;
pp. 40 #2-8, 12-16, 34-38 even

Tuesday, August 20

discussed previous HW set;
discussed limits, continuity, and end behavior;
worked examples from the problem set;
pp. 30 #2-10, 14, 16, 22-28 even

Monday, August 19

discussed previous HW set;
discussed point and line symmetry, even and odd functions ;
worked examples from the problem set;
pp. 19 #10-28 even


Friday, August 16

discussed quiz over chapter 0;
reviewed the concept of a function;
worked examples from the problem set;
pp. 9-11 #2-10, 18-28, 30-32, 40-44, 48, 50 even

Thursday, August 15

quiz over chapter 0;
read:  pp. 4-8 (functions)

Wednesday, August 14

further discussed frequency distributions and calculations with them;
p. P37 #2-10 even;
quiz over chapter 0 tomorrow

Tuesday, August 13

discussed frequency distributions and statistical terms;
demonstrated and example with a spreadsheet;
continued tomorrow

Monday, August 12

discussed permutations and combinations;
worked examples from the problem set;
p. P31 #2-20 even


Friday, August 9

discussed roots and fractional exponents;
worked examples from the problem set;
p. P17 #2-22 even

Thursday, August 8

discussed working with quadratics;
worked examples;
p. P13 #8, 10, 16, 24, 28, 32, 36, 42, 46 

Wednesday, August 7

discussed arithmetic with complex numbers;
worked examples;
p. P8 #2-32, 38-42  even

Tuesday, August 6

discussed set notion and operations;
p. P5 #2-30 even

Monday, August 5

explained course content;
reviewed Algebra II concepts;
read pp. P3-P4 (sets)