Course Description

All future communication will take place via Google Classroom

Thursday, March 12

quiz 9.1

Wednesday, March 11

discussed any remaining problems;
quiz 9.1 tomorrow

Tuesday, March 10

worked examples from yesterday’s problem set;
quiz 9.1 postponed until Thursday

Monday, March 9

reviewed/demonstrated transforming polar and rectangular equations;
p. 557 #2-8, 14-18, 26-30, 36-40 even;
quiz 9.1 on Wednesday


Friday, March 6

discussed transforming polar and rectangular equations;
p. 557 #2-8, 14-18, 26-30, 36-40 even (due Tuesday)

Thursday, March 5

discussed polar equations and their graphs;
p. 548 #4, 6, 10, 12, 20, 26, 28, 36, 38

Wednesday, March 4

discussed test 8;
defined/discussed polar coordinates;
p. 538 #2-14, 30-36 even

Tuesday, March 3

test 8;
read:  534-537 (polar coordinates)

Monday, March 2

discussed quiz 8.2;
reviewed chapter 8;
test 8 tomorrow


Friday, February 28

quiz 8.2;
test 8 on Tuesday

Thursday, February 27

all but 4 absent due to gymnastics;
went to the maintenance building, looking for illustrations/applications of torque;
quiz 8.2 tomorrow

Wednesday, February 26

further discussed vector cross product, and related calculations;
quiz 8.2 on Friday

Tuesday, February 25

discussed vector cross product, and related calculations;
p.522 #2-12, 16-22 even

Monday, February 24

discussed quiz 8.1;
discussed vectors in 3-D, and simple operations with 3-D vectors;
p.514 #10-14, 26, 28, 36-40 even


Friday, February 21

quiz 8.1;
read:  pp. 510-513 (vectors in 3-D space)

Thursday, February 20

discussed p.506;
reviewed what we’ve done so far in chapter 8;
quiz 8.1 tomorrow

Wednesday, February 19

discussed vector dot product and related calculations;
worked samples from the problem set;
p.506 #2-20, 26-28 even

Tuesday, February 18

discussed conventions for representing vectors;
worked samples from the problem set;
p.497 #2-8, 12-16, 20-22, 28-30, 38-48 even

Monday, February 17

reviewed vectors and scalars;
discussed/demonstrated doing vector addition, both graphically, and analytically;
p.488 #2-6, 20-26, 36 even


Friday, February 14

discussed test 7;
defined/discussed vectors and scalars;
read:  pp.482-487 (vectors)

Thursday, February 13

test 7

Wednesday, February 12

discussed quiz 7.2;
reviewed chapter 7;
test 7 tomorrow

Tuesday, February 11

quiz 7.2;
test 7 on Thursday

Monday, February 10

reviewed hyperbolas and parametric equations;
quiz on hyperbolas and parametric equations tomorrow;
p. 469 #2-6, 10-14, 18-22  even (due tomorrow)


Friday, January 31

further discussed parametric equations;
 worked on p. 469 #2-6, 10-14, 18-22  even (due Tuesday after break)

Thursday, January 30

discussed parametric equations;
 p. 469 #2-6, 10-14, 18-22  even (due Tuesday after break)

Wednesday, January 29

further discussed hyperbolas;
worked example problems;
continue working on p. 449 #2-6, 12-16, 24-28 even

Tuesday, January 28

discussed quiz 7.1;
defined/discussed hyperbolas;
begin working on p. 449 #2-6, 12-16, 24-28 even

Monday, January 27

quiz 7.1;
read:  pp.442-448 (hyperbolas)


Friday, January 24

worked problems from the last 2 lessons;
quiz over parabolas, circles, and ellipses on Monday

Thursday, January 23

defined/demonstrated equations of an ellipse;
worked problems from the problem set;
p.438 #2-10, 14-16, 24-30 even

Wednesday, January 22

discussed test 6;
intro to conic sections;
defined/demonstrated equations of a parabola;
p.428 #2-6, 16-18, 26-28, 36-38 even

Tuesday, January 21

test 6;
read:  pp.422-427 (conic sections)

Monday, January 20

worked more examples of partial fraction decomposition;
test 6 tomorrow


Friday, January 17

further discussed/demonstrated partial fraction decomposition;
finish up p.402 #2, 4, 8, 10, 14, 16, 20, 22

Thursday, January 16

discussed quiz 6.1;
discussed/demonstrated partial fraction decomposition;
p.402 #2, 4, 8, 10, 14, 16, 20, 22

Wednesday, January 15

quiz 6.1;
read:  pp.398-401 (partial fractions)

Tuesday, January 14

reviewed the first 3 lessons of chapter 6;
quiz 6.1 tomorrow

Monday, January 13

discussed and worked examples off of p. 392;
p.392 #2-6, 12-18, 22-24, 28  even
quiz 6.1 on Wednesday


Friday, January 10

discussed p. 383;
start looking over p.392 #2-6, 12-18, 22-24, 28  even

Thursday, January 9

no class, due to community service day

Wednesday, January 8

further discussed Cramer’s rule, matrix multiplication,  and inverse matrices;
p.383 #2-6, 12-14, 20-24, 28, 32, 36-42 even

Tuesday, January 7

discussed Cramer’s rule and inverse matrices;
worked examples from yesterday’s homework set;
p.372 due tomorrow

Monday, January 6

discussed/demonstrated Gaussian elimination;
worked examples from the homework set;
p.372 #2-6, 10-12, 16-26, 32-34 even


Tuesday, December 17

reviewed chapters 2 & 3;
continue reviewing chapters 1-5 for semester exam on Thursday afternoon, 3:45

Monday, December 16

began reviewing chapters 1-5 for semester exam on Thursday afternoon, 3:45


Friday, December 13

discussed test 5;
start reviewing for semester exam over chapters 1-5

Thursday, December 12

test 5

Wednesday, December 11

reviewed chapter 5;
test 5 tomorrow

Tuesday, December 10

discussed quiz 5.2;
test 5 postponed until Thursday

Monday, December 9

quiz 5.2;
test 5 on Wednesday


Friday, December 6

discussed problems from Wednesday’s homework set;
quiz over the 2nd half of chapter 5 on Monday

Thursday, December 5

discussed problems from yesterday’s homework set;
quiz over the 2nd half of chapter 5 on Monday

Wednesday, December 4

discussed multiple-angle, product to sum, and power-reduction identities;
worked examples from the homework set;
p.352 #2-12, 18-26, 34, 38, 42, 44 even

Tuesday, December 3

worked examples from yesterday’s homework set;
read:  pp. 346-351 (multiple-angle and product-to-sum identities)

Monday, December 2

discussed quiz 5.1;
discussed sum and difference identities;
worked examples from the homework set;
p.341 #2-6, 12-22, 24-28 even


Thursday, November 21

quiz 5.1

Wednesday, November 20

discussed trigonometric equations;
quiz 5.1 tomorrow

Tuesday, November 19

students finished up verifying trigonometric equations up in front of the class;
discussed trigonometric equations;
worked a few problems from the problem set;
p.331 #2-8, 14-16, 22-26 even

Monday, November 18

each student verified a single trigonometric equation up in front of the class;
read:  pp. 327-330 (trigonometric equations)


Friday, November 15

worked examples from yesterday’s problem set;
be prepared to present to the class the single problem given you from p. 324 #2-24

Thursday, November 14

discussed pythagorean identities, and co-functions;
worked examples from the problem set;
p.317 #2-14, 18-24 even

Wednesday, November 13

discussed test 4;
if you haven’t already, read:  pp.312-316 (trigonometric identities)

Tuesday, November 12

test 4;
read:  pp.312-316 (trigonometric identities)

Monday, November 11

reviewed chapter 4;
test 4 tomorrow


Friday, November 8

discussed quiz 4.2;
test 4 on Tuesday

Thursday, November 7

quiz 4.2;
test 4 on Tuesday

Wednesday, November 6

discussed yesterday’s homework;
reviewed the second half of chapter 4;
quiz 4.2 tomorrow

Tuesday, November 5

discussed the law of sines, cosines, and Heron’s formula;
worked examples from the problem set;
pp.298 # #2-6; 10-16, 20-24, 28-32, 38-40 even 

Monday, November 4

further discussed inverse trig functions and their limited domains and ranges;
worked examples from the problem set;
pp.288-289 #2-14, 20-24, 30-36, 50-54 even 


Friday, November 1

discussed quiz 4.1;
discussed inverse trig functions and their limited range;
pp.288-289 #2-14, 20-24, 30-36, 50-54 even (due Tuesday)

Thursday, October 31

quiz 4.1;
read:  pp.280-287 (inverse trigonometric functions)

Wednesday, October 30

discussed problems from yesterday’s problem set;
reviewed lessons 1-4 of chapter 4;
quiz 4.1 tomorrow

Tuesday, October 29