course syllabus
science links
practice quizzes

All future communication will take place via Google Classroom with Ms. Case

Friday, March 13

reviewed classification of matter;
defined physical change and chemical change;
listed/discussed physical properties and chemical properties of matter

Thursday, March 12

discussed classification of matter, citing many examples;
read:  pp.458-465 (properties of matter)

Wednesday, March 11

reviewed electromagnetism;
quiz 8;
read:  pp.450-456 (classifying matter)

Tuesday, March 10

discussed/demonstrated magnetic damping;
demonstrated a Tesla coil, exciting gas discharge tubes;
looked at the online quiz for chapter 8;
quiz 8 tomorrow

Monday, March 9

reviewed electromagnetic induction, transformers, and the electric energy grid;
watched animations on transformers;
quiz 8 on Wednesday;
no journal tomorrow


Friday, March 6

reviewed electromagnetic induction;
discussed transformers, and the electric energy grid

Thursday, March 5

reviewed electric motors;
discussed/demonstrated electromagnetic induction;
examined a hand-crank generator;
discussed conservation of energy

Wednesday, March 4

further discussed/demonstrated applications of electromagnetism;
discussed/examined electric motors

Tuesday, March 3

reviewed magnetism;
discussed/demonstrated electromagnetism;
discussed/examined speakers;
read:  pp. 231-237 (electromagnetism)

Monday, March 2

discussed the history of understanding magnetism;
passed around magnetite, paperclips, compasses, bar magnets, and made observations;
noted the polarity of Earth’s magnetism;
journal entry due tomorrow


Friday, February 28

discussed the correct usage practices of a multimeter;
reviewed with the online quiz for chapter 7;
quiz 7;
read:  pp.224-230 (magnetism)

Thursday, February 27

asked questions about the worksheet on electric circuits;
discussed parallel and series resistances, parallel and series cells;
looked at the online quiz for chapter 7;
quiz 7 tomorrow

Wednesday, February 26

began worksheet on electric circuits;
examined multimeters; measured continuity and voltage;
quiz 7 on Friday

Tuesday, February 25

discussed electrical power calculations;
discussed/examined fuses and circuit breakers;
discussed a series and a parallel circuit

Monday, February 24

reviewed current, voltage, resistance, and Ohm’s law;
examined some resistors, and discussed the color codes as a review of scientific notation;
journal entry due tomorrow


Friday, February 21

discussed current, voltage, and resistance;
discussed Ohm’s law;
read:  pp.207-313 (electric energy)

Thursday, February 20

watched animations of how xerography works in a laser printer;
began looking at schematic symbols for circuit components

Wednesday, February 19

discussed/demonstrated static electric charge;
read: pp. 200-205 (electric current)

Tuesday, February 18

further discussed eye anatomy and laser vision correction;
watched episode 23 of Eureka about electrons;
read: pp. 192-199 (static charge)

Monday, February 17

reviewed internal combustion engines using heat engine animations;
reviewed lens imaging from earlier in the year;
discussed eye anatomy and vision correction;
journal entry due tomorrow


Friday, February 14

discussed quiz on chapter 5;
reviewed heat flow;
discussed internal combustion engines using heat engine animations

Thursday, February 13

reviewed chapter 5 with online practice quizzes;
quiz on chapter 5

Wednesday, February 12

worked more with “the ramp“;
reviewed chapter 5 with online practice quizzes;
quiz 5 tomorrow

Tuesday, February 11

worked with “the ramp“;
worksheet on work, power, and simple machines due tomorrow

Monday, February 10

reviewed work, power and simple machines;
watched episode 15 of Eureka on pulleys;
discussed pulleys and mechanical advantage;
began worksheet on work, power, and simple machines (due Wednesday);
no journal entry due tomorrow


Friday, January 31

reviewed/demonstrated idea behind the inclined plane and the lever;
watched episode 12-14 of Eureka on other simple machines, mechanical advantage, friction, and efficiency

Thursday, January 30

did horsepower activity on the stairs;
watched some professional athletes exhibit extreme power;
watched episode 11 of Eureka on the inclined plane;
read:  pp.132-137 (machines)

Wednesday, January 29

discussed quiz 4;
discussed work and power;
defined watts and horsepower

Tuesday, January 28

reviewed chapter 4 with online practice quizzes;
quiz 4;
briefly discussed work and power;
read:  pp.126-131 (work and power)
journal entry due tomorrow

Monday, January 27

discussed/demonstrated conservation of energy;
visited the skate park animation;
reviewed chapter 4 with online practice quizzes;
quiz 4 tomorrow


Friday, January 24

watched episodes 8-10 of Eureka;
discussed yesterday’s quiz on chapter 3;
discussed/demonstrated elastic potential energy;
read:  pp. 107-115 (conservation of energy)

Thursday, January 23

discussed drag through fluids;
watched video clip on free-fall with a vacuum;
quiz on chapter 3;
briefly discussed kinetic and potential energy;
read:  pp. 100-105 (energy)

Wednesday, January 22

discussed projectile motion;
watched an episode from Myth Busters on a dropped vs fired bulled falling together;
looked at the practice quiz for chapter 3;
quiz over chapter 3 tomorrow

Tuesday, January 21

reviewed centripetal force;
discussed action/reaction;
watched a segment from The Mechanical Universe on momentum conservation;
quiz over chapter 3 on Thursday

Monday, January 20

watched episode 7 of Eureka;
discussed sliding friction;
contrasted starting friction with sliding friction;
discussed anti-lock brakes;
read:  pp. 83-88 (action/reaction)
no Journal due tomorrow or this week


Friday, January 17

reviewed yesterday’s quiz over chapters 1 & 2;
reviewed Newton’s Laws of Motion;
watched episodes 3-6 of Eureka;
read:  pp. 75-82 (gravity and centripetal force)

Thursday, January 16

quiz over chapters 1 & 2;
further discussed/demonstrated Newton’s Laws of Motion;
watched episodes 1 & 2 of Eureka;
read:  pp. 68-74 (forces)

Wednesday, January 15

no class, due to Shakespeare field trip

Tuesday, January 14

discussed worksheet on distance, velocity, & acceleration (due Thursday);
continued reviewing chapters 1 & 2 with practice quizzes;
discussed/demonstrated Newton’s Laws of Motion;
quiz over chapters 1 & 2 on Thursday, due to field trip on Wednesday;
journal entry due on Thursday

Monday, January 13

discussed worksheet on distance, velocity, & acceleration (due Wednesday);
began reviewing chapters 1 & 2 with practice quizzes;
quiz over chapters 1 & 2 on Wednesday;
journal entry due on Wednesday


Friday, January 10

discussed acceleration and velocity vs. time graphs;
began a worksheet on distance, velocity, & acceleration (due Wednesday)

Thursday, January 9

no class, due to community service day

Wednesday, January 8

worked units conversion examples;
answered questions on the worksheet on units and measurement (due Friday);
analyzed position vs. time graphs;
analyzed velocity vs. time graphs;
read:  pp. 47-51 (acceleration)

Tuesday, January 7

discussed/compared changing English units with SI units;
worked units conversion examples;
began a worksheet on units and measurement (due Thursday);
read:  pp. 38-46 (1-D motion)

Monday, January 6

defined/discussed physics as the study of energy;
discussed fundamental units and unit prefixes;
read:  pp. 14-21 (measurement)


Tuesday, December 17

reviewed chapters 2 & 3 with practice quizzes;
continue reviewing for semester exam over chapters 2, 3, 6, 9, 17, 18, 19, 22-25  (7:30 Friday morning);

Monday, December 16

quiz over 18 & 19;
start reviewing for semester exam over chapters 2, 3, 6, 9, 17, 18, 19, 22-25  (7:30 Friday morning);
no journal entry tomorrow


Friday, December 13

reviewed chapter 18 & 19 with Powerpoint summary;
quiz 18 & 19 on Monday;
no journal entry on Tuesday

Thursday, December 12

reviewed pressure difference, coriolis effect, and prevailing winds as factors affecting wind speed and direction;
discussed rough surface features as lessening coriolis effect;
looked at weather maps, trying to predict wind intensity and direction from isobars and surface features;
quiz 18 & 19 on Monday

Wednesday, December 11

reviewed dewpoint, cloud formation, and types of clouds;
discussed pressure difference, coriolis effect, and prevailing winds as factors affecting wind speed and direction;
read:  pp.543-548 (regional wind systems)

Tuesday, December 10

began worksheet calculating relative humidity;
discussed dewpoint and cloud formation;
began discussing types of clouds;
read:  pp.532-542 (pressure & winds)
we’re doing chapters 18 & 19 together

Monday, December 9

began worksheet on water in the atmosphere;
reviewed latent heat vs. sensible heat;
discussed evaporative cooling;
discussed relative humidity;
read:  pp.517-522 (cloud types and precipitation)
journal entry due tomorrow;
worksheet on water in the atmosphere due Wednesday


Friday, December 6

discussed quiz over chapter 17;
watched episodes 28 of Eureka on heat as energy;
further discussed latent heat vs. sensible heat;
if you haven’t already, read:  pp.510-516 (cloud formation)

Thursday, December 5

quiz over chapter 17;
read:  pp.510-516 (cloud formation)

Wednesday, December 4

reviewed chapter 17 with Powerpoint summary and practice quiz;
quiz on chapter 17 tomorrow

Tuesday, December 3

passed out worksheet on temperature variations (due Thursday);
watched episodes 21, 25-27, 29 of Eureka;
quiz on chapter 17 Thursday

Monday, December 2

reviewed heating in the atmosphere;
discussed factors affecting temperature averages;
passed out worksheet on atmospheric heating (due Wednesday);
watched episode 20 of Eureka on temperature
no journal entry due tomorrow


Friday, November 22

further discussed atmospheric absorption by various gasses;
watched episodes 16-19 of Eureka on kinetic theory

Thursday, November 21

demonstrated atmospheric pressure with a vacuum pump;
demonstrated atmospheric scattering;
discussed atmospheric absorption by various gasses;
finish the worksheet (due tomorrow)

Wednesday, November 20

reviewed atmospheric composition;
discussed atmospheric layers;
began to discuss atmospheric heating;
begin the worksheet (due Friday)

Tuesday, November 19

discussed quiz 25;
discussed atmospheric composition;
read:  pp. 483-493 (atmospheric heating)

 

Monday, November 18

reviewed chapter 25 with Powerpoint summary;
quiz 25;
read:  pp. 476-482 (the atmosphere)


Friday, November 15

discussed/viewed galaxy types and Hubble’s tuning-fork diagram;
viewed galaxy clusters;
discussed Hubble’s law and red shift;
finish the worksheet on the universe (due Monday);
quiz 25 on Monday

Thursday, November 14

discussed evidence of the expanding universe;
watched Cosmos:  The Edge of Forever (22:50-30:10) on the attributes that 4-D space would have;
begin the worksheet on the universe

Wednesday, November 13

looked at images of planetary nebulae;
finished watching Cosmos:  The lives of the Stars (33 minutes onward);
read:  pp.715-721 (the Universe)

Tuesday, November 12

reviewed the life of a sun-like star, a light-weight star, and a massive star;
continued watching Cosmos:  The lives of the Stars (19-33 minutes);
star life worksheet due tomorrow 

Monday, November 11

reviewed the Hertzsprung-Russell diagram;
briefly sketched the life of a sun-like star, a light-weight star, and a massive star;
continued watching Cosmos:  The lives of the Stars (11-19 minutes);
Journal entry due tomorrow


Friday, November 8

discussed/contrasted apparent magnitude with absolute magnitude;
reviewed the Hertzsprung-Russell diagram;
began watching Cosmos:  The lives of the Stars (0-11 minutes);
stellar worksheet due Monday;
Journal entry due Tuesday

Thursday, November 7

discussed quiz 24;
reviewed radiation from a light bulb on a dimmer;
discussed blackbody radiation curves;
discussed the Hertzsprung-Russell diagram;
began a worksheet on stars (due Monday);
read:  pp. 707-715 (star life and death)

Wednesday, November 6

reviewed chapter 24 with the practice quiz;
quiz 24;
discussed/demonstrated radiation from a light bulb on a dimmer;
read:  pp. 700-706 (properties of stars)

Tuesday, November 5

reviewed solar anatomy;
further discussed nuclear fusion;
viewed a short video clip showing a solar features;
reviewed chapter 24 with Powerpoint summary;
quiz 24 tomorrow

Monday, November 4

discussed solar anatomy;
discussed nuclear fusion & E=mc^2;
visited SOHO to see current solar images;
viewed a short NASA clip showing a solar flare and related prominences;
journal entry due tomorrow


Friday, November 1

played around with lens imaging;
further discussed reflecting and refracting telescopes;
began discussing solar anatomy;
journal entry due on Tuesday

Thursday, October 31

discussed/demonstrated diffraction and interference of waves;
discussed/demonstrated mirror and lens imaging;
discussed reflecting and refracting telescopes;
read:  pp.684-690 (the Sun)

Wednesday, October 30

discussed/demonstrated the Doppler effect;
discussed/demonstrated reflection and refraction;
finish the worksheet on the nature of light (due tomorrow)

Tuesday, October 29

discussed the anatomy of an electromagnetic wave;
reviewed the electromagnetic spectrum and the visible spectrum;
looked at various spectra using spectroscopes;
began considering a worksheet on the nature of light (due Thursday)

Monday, October 28

discussed harmonizing day 1 and day 4 of creation week;
discussed the electromagnetic spectrum;
discussed the wavelengths of the visible spectrum;
journal entry due tomorrow


Friday, October 25

reviewed chapter 23 with the Powerpoint summary;
quiz 23;
read:  pp.674-683 (light)

Thursday, October 24

reviewed the terrestrial and Jovian planets;
looked at images of moons of planets;
looked at the practice quiz for chapter 23;
quiz 23 on planets tomorrow

Wednesday, October 23

discussed a worksheet on solar system travel (due Thursday);
made a comparative chart, contrasting terrestrial with Jovian planets;
quiz 23 on planets this Friday

Tuesday, October 22

discussed the Jovian planets & compared with terrestrial;
discussed a worksheet on solar system travel (due Thursday);

Monday, October 21

discussed the terrestrial planets;
received a worksheet on solar system travel (due Thursday);
read:  pp. 654-664 (the Jovian planets)
no journal due tomorrow


Wednesday, October 16

finished watching Cosmos:  Harmony of the Worlds, about Kepler;
watched A Tour Through Our Solar System

Tuesday, October 15

continued watching Cosmos:  Harmony of the Worlds, about renaissance astronomy;
if you didn’t already, read:  pp.649-653 (the terrestrial planets)

Monday, October 14

discussed Friday’s quiz over chapter 22;
watched the 9 minutes of Cosmos:  Harmony of the Worlds, about the pseudoscience of astrology;
read:  pp.649-653 (the terrestrial planets)


Friday, October 11

brief review of Earth, Moon, and Sun motions; review of early astronomers;
quiz over chapter 22;
read:  pp.644-648 (the solar system)

Thursday, October 10

reviewed Earth, Moon, and Sun motions;
reviewed chapter 22 with summary presentation;
quiz tomorrow over chapter 22

Wednesday, October 9

discussed/demonstrated Earth, Moon, and Sun motions;
discussed eclipses;
quiz Friday over this week’s reading and discussion

Tuesday, October 8

discussed early astronomy/astronomers;
looked at animations of early models;
discussed Kepler’s laws of planetary motion;
read:  pp.622-629 (Earth–Moon–Sun)

Monday, October 7

discussed/demonstrated the size of the universe with Scale of the Universe;
read:  pp.614-621 (early astronomy)