Computer Literacy Assignments Blog

/Computer Literacy Assignments Blog
Computer Literacy Assignments Blog 2017-10-17T18:49:11+00:00

Course Description

Tuesday, October 17

did 200-205 on specific functions;
discussed/demonstrated more writing formulas involving functions

Monday, October 16

did 196-199;
discussed/demonstrated more writing formulas


Friday, October 13

quiz on the week’s topics;
discussed/demonstrated writing formulas

Thursday, October 12

did 168-171 on clearing cells and naming ranges;
discussed writing formulas;
read 194-195 on formulas

Wednesday, October 11

did 162-167 on spreadsheet conditional formatting and row/column manipulation

Tuesday, October 10

did 150-161 on spreadsheet formatting

Monday, October 9

did 144-149 on spreadsheet attributes 


Friday, October 6

reviewed the week’s topics;
quiz over the week’s topics;
briefly discussed some of the attributes of a spreadsheet

Thursday, October 5

did 134-141 on tracking changes to a document;
quiz tomorrow on the week’s topics

Wednesday, October 4

looked for spelling and grammar errors in a document

Tuesday, October 3

reviewed find, replace, & comments;
did 126-131 (spelling and grammar check, auto-correct)

Monday, October 2

reviewed  footnotes, endnotes, & bibliography;
did 121-123 (find, replace and comments)


Friday, September 29

reviewed headers, footers, footnotes, and endnotes;
did 110-113 (index and table of contents)
did 106-107 (bibliography)

Thursday, September 28

continued working on an invoice document with a segment of spreadsheet embedded in it;
did 106-107 (footnotes and endnotes)

Wednesday, September 27

began creating an invoice document with a segment of spreadsheet embedded in it

Tuesday, September 26

no class, due to Iowa Assessments testing

Monday, September 25

no class, due to Iowa Assessments testing


Friday, September 22

completed yesterday’s document using tables;
reviewed the week’s topics;
took a quiz over columns, tables, formatting

Thursday, September 21

created a document using tables;

Wednesday, September 20

did 98-103 on columns, tables, and spreadsheet inserts;

Tuesday, September 19

created a document using borders (Psalm 23);

Monday, September 18

did 92-97 on embedded video, themes, & borders;


Friday, September 8

no class, due to Community Outreach Day

Thursday, September 7

had show-N-tell with personalized document using styles & themes

Wednesday, September 6

created a personalized document using styles & themes

Tuesday, September 5

did 88-91, then discussed working with styles, themes, and templates

Monday, September 4

finished working on a document involving lists:  an outline of Revelation


Friday, September 1

began working on a document involving lists

Thursday, August 31

discussed some of the features of Outlook;
did 84-87 on lists;
no weekly quiz tomorrow

Wednesday, August 30

finished (almost) working on getting an email account set up on Outlook;
briefly talked about lists on Word

Tuesday, August 29

continued working on getting an email account set up on Outlook

Monday, August 28

worked on getting an email account set up on Outlook


Friday, August 25

reviewed the week’s topics;
quiz over the week’s topics

Thursday, August 24

created a document according to specifications using Word;

Wednesday, August 23

did pp.80-83 on tabs and margins;
discussed excessive fonts abuse;
discussed spacing, justification, indents, and margins

Tuesday, August 22

did pp.72-79 on typefaces

Monday, August 21

did 62-69 on views, signatures, & symbols


Friday, August 18

quiz over the week’s topics;
discussed connectivity speeds and issues with using “the cloud”

Thursday, August 17

did 22-23 on personal data in documents;
discussed the myth of digital anonymity;
did 26-29 on cut, copy, & paste;
quiz tomorrow over the week’s topics

Wednesday, August 16

did 14-19 on creating, opening, and saving documents;
briefly discussed printers and printing

Tuesday, August 15

quiz on file system terminology;
passed out textbooks;
did 7-14 on customizing the ribbon and the quick access toolbar

Monday, August 14

reviewed file system terminology;
browsed around the network share points using Windows and Mac OS;
quiz tomorrow


Friday, August 11

discussed networked drives;
briefly discussed the Macintosh Finder

Thursday, August 10

discussed file types and file extensions;
tried to map some networked drives

Wednesday, August 9

took the typing speed test;
began exploring Macintosh Finder

Tuesday, August 8

played around with typing tutorial;
typing speed quiz tomorrow

Monday, August 7

discussed nature of course, course expectations, and website;
played around with typing speed test