Course Description

All future communication will take place via Google Classroom

Thursday, March 12

discussed/analyzed hyperbolas;
worked in class on homework assignment;
p.645 #4-10, 18-24, 40 even (we’ll work on this in class tomorrow)

Wednesday, March 11

discussed quiz 9.1;
briefly discussed offset conics;
discussed/analyzed hyperbolas;
start looking at p.645 #4-10, 18-24, 40 even (we’ll work on this in class tomorrow)

Tuesday, March 10

quiz 9.1;
read:  pp. 642-644 (hyperbolas)

Monday, March 9

reviewed parabolas, circles, and ellipses;
quiz over parabolas, circles, and ellipses tomorrow


Friday, March 6

reviewed ellipses and their equations;
quiz over parabolas, circles, and ellipses on Tuesday

Thursday, March 5

defined/discussed ellipses and their equations;
p.637 #4-12, 18-26 even

Wednesday, March 4

defined/discussed circles and their equations;
p.629 #4-16, 22-26 even

Tuesday, March 3

defined/discussed parabolas and their properties;
p.623 #4-16, 26-32 even

Monday, March 2

discussed the distance and midpoint formulas;
p.617 #4-12, 22-26, 32, 34 even


Friday, February 28

discussed test 8;
briefly discussed the relevance of conic sections;
read:  pp.614-616 (intro to conic sections)

Thursday, February 27

test 8

Wednesday, February 26

discussed quiz 8.2;
test 8 on Thursday

Tuesday, February 25

quiz 8.2;
test 8 on Thursday

Monday, February 24

discussed p.593;
quiz 8.2 tomorrow;
test 8 on Thursday


Friday, February 21

discussed quiz 8.1;
discussed rational equations;
worked examples from the problem set;
p.593 #4-10, 14-22 even

Thursday, February 20

quiz 8.1;
read:  pp.589-592 (rational equations)

Wednesday, February 19

discussed adding and subtracting rational functions;
reviewed the first half of chapter 8;
quiz 8.1 tomorrow

Tuesday, February 18

discussed adding and subtracting rational functions;
worked examples from the problem set;
p. 586 #4-12, 16-22, 28-34 even even

Monday, February 17

discussed multiplying, dividing, and simplifying rational functions;
worked examples from the problem set;
p. 577 #6-16, 24-40 even


Friday, February 14

discussed rational functions;
worked examples from the problem set;
p. 568 #8-12, 16-22 even

Thursday, February 13

discussed reciprocal functions;
worked examples from the problem set;
p. 561 #4-18 even

Wednesday, February 12

discussed test 7;
discussed direct, inverse, and joint variations;
p. 555 #4-18, 24, 26 even

Tuesday, February 11

test 7;
read:  pp.551-554 (direct and inverse variations)

Monday, February 10

reviewed chapter 7;
test 7 tomorrow


Friday, January 31

reviewed chapter 7;
test 7 on Tuesday after the break

Thursday, January 30

discussed quiz 7.2 on logarithms;
started reviewing chapter 7;
test 7 on Tuesday after the break

Wednesday, January 29

quiz 7.2 on logarithms;
test 7 on Tuesday after the break

Tuesday, January 28

discussed/demonstrated using Excel to place best-fit exponential and logarithmic curves through scatter plots;
reviewed the second half of chapter 7;
quiz 7.2 tomorrow on logarithms

Monday, January 27

discussed questions from the previous problem set;
discussed exponential and logarithm equations;
worked examples from the problem set;
p. 519 #4-20, 24-38 even


Friday, January 24

discussed questions from the problem set;
discussed logarithm identities;
p. 510 #8-28, 34-40, 46-52 even

Thursday, January 23

discussed quiz on exponentials;
discussed logarithms;
worked examples from the problem set;
p. 503 #4-16, 20-34, 38-42 even

Wednesday, January 22

quiz on exponentials;
read:  pp.  499-503 (logarithms)

Tuesday, January 21

reviewed what we’ve done so far with exponentials;
quiz 7.1 tomorrow

Monday, January 20

discussed investment interest and compounding;
introduced e;
examined exponential growth and exponential decay;
p. 495 #4-12, 20-28, 42-48 even


Friday, January 17

discussed exponential growth and decay;
p. 489 #4-12, 16-20 even

Thursday, January 16

discussed test 6;
discussed/compared various exponential functions;
p. 482 #6-10, 16-20 even

Wednesday, January 15

test 6;
read:  pp.478-481 (exponentials)

Tuesday, January 14

discussed quiz 6.2;
reviewed chapter 6;
test 6 tomorrow

Monday, January 13

quiz 6.2;
test 6 on Wednesday


Friday, January 10

reviewed lessons 6.4, 6.5, & 6.6;
quiz over the second half of chapter 6 on Monday

Thursday, January 9

no class, due to community service day

Wednesday, January 8

discussed/demonstrated solving radical equations;
worked examples from the homework set;
p.456 #4-10, 14-20, 24-30 even

Tuesday, January 7

discussed/demonstrated graphing and analyzing radical functions;
worked examples from the homework set;
p.449 #4-20 even

Monday, January 6

defined/discussed inverse functions;
worked examples from the homework set;
p.442 #4-10, 16-26 even


Tuesday, December 17

reviewed chapters 2 & 3;
continue reviewing for semester exam, chapters 1-5 (12:30 on Wednesday)

Monday, December 16

discussed quiz 6.1;
began reviewing for semester exam, chapters 1-5 (12:30 on Wednesday)


Friday, December 13

quiz 6.1

Thursday, December 12

discussed yesterday’s homework;
reviewed the first 3 lessons of chapter 6;
quiz 6.1 tomorrow

Wednesday, December 11

discussed yesterday’s homework;
discussed function arithmetic and function composition;
p.432 #2-32 even

Tuesday, December 10

discussed properties of exponents;
worked problems from the homework set;
p.424 #4-12, 16-20, 24-28, 32-36 even

Monday, December 9

discussed roots and rational exponents;
worked problems from the homework set;
p.417 #4-32 even


Friday, December 6

discussed test 5;
read:  pp. 414-416 (nth roots and rational expressions)

Thursday, December 5

test 5

Wednesday, December 4

discussed quiz 5.2;
reviewed chapter 5;
test 5 tomorrow

Tuesday, December 3

quiz 5.2;
test 5 on Thursday

Monday, December 2

reviewed sections 5.4-5.7;
quiz over 2nd half of chapter 5 tomorrow


Thursday, November 21

worked examples from yesterday’s homework set;
quiz over 2nd half of chapter 5 on Tuesday after break

Wednesday, November 20

discussed/demonstrated finding all zeros of polynomials;
worked examples from the homework set;
p.383 #4, 6, 10-16, 20-26 even

Tuesday, November 19

discussed quiz 5.1;
discussed/demonstrated finding zeros of polynomials;
worked examples from the homework set;
p.374 #4, 6, 12-16, 24-28 even

Monday, November 18

quiz 5.1;
read:  pp.370-373 (finding zeros of polynomials)


Friday, November 15

worked examples from yesterday’s homework set;
reviewed the first half of chapter 5;
quiz 5.1 on Monday

Thursday, November 14

reviewed factoring polynomials;
discussed/demonstrated polynomial division;
worked examples from the homework set;
p. 366 #4-18, 22-28 even

Wednesday, November 13

discussed factoring polynomials;
worked examples from the homework set;
p. 356 #4-28 even

Tuesday, November 12

discussed arithmetic with polynomials;
worked examples from the homework set;
p. 349 #4-24, 28-32 even

Monday, November 11

discussed properties of polynomials;
worked examples from the homework set;
p. 341 #4-22, 28-36 even


Friday, November 8

discussed properties of exponents;
p. 333 #16-34 even

Thursday, November 7

discussed test 4;
if you haven’t already, read:  pp.330-332 (exponents)

Wednesday, November 6

test 4;
read:  pp.330-332 (exponents)

Tuesday, November 5

discussed quiz 4.2;
reviewed chapter 4;
test 4 tomorrow

Monday, November 4

quiz 4.2;
test 4 on Wednesday


Friday, November 1

discussed examples from the problem set;
reviewed the last few lessons;
quiz 4.2 on Monday;
test 4 on Wednesday

Thursday, October 31

discussed quadratic inequalities;
worked examples from the problem set;
pp.304-305 #6-12, 20-24, 36-40, 46-50 even

Wednesday, October 30

all juniors were absent, due to the PSAT;
worked examples from yesterday’s problem set

Tuesday, October 29

used completing the square to deri