Course Description

Friday, November 15

worked examples from yesterday’s homework set;
reviewed the first half of chapter 5;
quiz 5.1 on Monday

Thursday, November 14

reviewed factoring polynomials;
discussed/demonstrated polynomial division;
worked examples from the homework set;
p. 366 #4-18, 22-28 even

Wednesday, November 13

discussed factoring polynomials;
worked examples from the homework set;
p. 356 #4-28 even

Tuesday, November 12

discussed arithmetic with polynomials;
worked examples from the homework set;
p. 349 #4-24, 28-32 even

Monday, November 11

discussed properties of polynomials;
worked examples from the homework set;
p. 341 #4-22, 28-36 even


Friday, November 8

discussed properties of exponents;
p. 333 #16-34 even

Thursday, November 7

discussed test 4;
if you haven’t already, read:  pp.330-332 (exponents)

Wednesday, November 6

test 4;
read:  pp.330-332 (exponents)

Tuesday, November 5

discussed quiz 4.2;
reviewed chapter 4;
test 4 tomorrow

Monday, November 4

quiz 4.2;
test 4 on Wednesday


Friday, November 1

discussed examples from the problem set;
reviewed the last few lessons;
quiz 4.2 on Monday;
test 4 on Wednesday

Thursday, October 31

discussed quadratic inequalities;
worked examples from the problem set;
pp.304-305 #6-12, 20-24, 36-40, 46-50 even

Wednesday, October 30

all juniors were absent, due to the PSAT;
worked examples from yesterday’s problem set

Tuesday, October 29

used completing the square to derive the quadratic formula;
worked examples from the problem set;
p.296 #4-10, 14-20, 32-36 even

Monday, October 28

discussed/demonstrated completing the square;
worked examples from the problem set;
p.288 #4-10, 14-32 even


Friday, October 25

discussed imaginary and complex numbers;
worked examples from the problem set;
finish working on p.279 #4-32, 42-48 even (due Monday)

Thursday, October 24

reviewed everything that had been discussed while the juniors were gone on the Junior History Trip;
continued working on p.279 #4-32, 42-48 even (due Friday)

Wednesday, October 23

reviewed imaginary and complex numbers;
demonstrated arithmetic with complex numbers;
began working on p.279 #4-32, 42-48 even (due Friday)

Tuesday, October 22

discussed imaginary and complex numbers;
discussed the complex plane and fractal images;
messed around some with Xaos, a fractal drawing application

Monday, October 21

discussed p. 263 & 269;
discussed imaginary numbers;
read:  pp. 275-279 (imaginary and complex numbers)


Tuesday, October 15

discussed p. 269

Monday, October 14

discussed p. 263;
discussed simplifying expression involving perfect squares;
p.269 #4-16, 22-30  even


Friday, October 11

discussed/demonstrated factoring quadratics when the leading coefficient is not 1;
p.263 #4-10, 14-26, 32-36  even

Thursday, October 10

discussed/demonstrated factoring quadratics;
p.255 #4-20, 24-32  even

Wednesday, October 9

discussed the homework set over properties of quadratics;
p.249 #4-8, 14-18, 24-28, 34, 36  even

Tuesday, October 8

discussed test 3;
discussed properties of quadratics;
p.240 #8-14, 22-28 even

Monday, October 7

test 3;
read:  pp.236-239 (quadratics)


Friday, October 4

no class, due to Alumni day and Fall Festival preparations;
test 3 on Monday

Thursday, October 3

quiz 3.2;
test 3 on Monday

Wednesday, October 2

reviewed working with matrices;
quiz 3.2 tomorrow

Tuesday, October 1

discussed/demonstrated working with inverse matrices;
discussed/demonstrated solving systems of equations with inverse matrices;
p.214   #4-8, 14-16, 26-30 even

Monday, September 30

reviewed calculating a determinant;
discussed/demonstrated Cramer’s rule;
p.207   #30-36


Friday, September 27

further discussed/demonstrated matrix multiplication;
discussed/demonstrated calculating a determinant;
p.207#4-10, 12-18 even      #30-36, soon to follow

Thursday, September 26

discussed/demonstrated matrix multiplication;
p.199 #4-18, 22-26 even

Wednesday, September 25

discussed quiz 3.1 over systems of equations;
discussed/demonstrated matrix arithmetic;
p.191 #4-18, 24, 26 even

Tuesday, September 24

quiz 3.1 over systems of equations;
read:  pp. 187-190 (matrix arithmetic)

Monday, September 23

further discussed/demonstrated solving 3 x 3 systems with Gaussian elimination;
quiz tomorrow over solving systems of equations


Friday, September 20

further discussed/demonstrated solving 3 x 3 systems with Gaussian elimination;
most of the class was absent due to ITED testing with the juniors

Thursday, September 19

further discussed/demonstrated solving 3 x 3 systems with Gaussian elimination;
most of the class was absent due to ITED testing with the juniors

Wednesday, September 18

discussed/demonstrated solving 3 x 3 systems with Gaussian elimination;
p.182 #4, 6, 10-20 even

Tuesday, September 17

ASVAB testing for juniors;
worked on yesterday’s homework assignment with sophomores

Monday, September 16

reviewed solving systems of equations by substitution and by Gaussian elimination;
p.164 #4-12, 16-24, 28-32 even


Tuesday, September 10

discussed solving systems of equations by substitution;
discussed solving systems of equations by Gaussian elimination

Monday, September 9

discussed test over chapter 2;
discussed solving systems of equations graphically;
p. 156 #4-8, 18-26 even


Friday, September 6

test over chapter 2;
read:  pp. 152-155 (systems of equations)

Thursday, September 5

discussed quiz 2.2;
reviewed chapter 2;
test over chapter 2 tomorrow

Wednesday, September 4

quiz 2.2;
test over chapter 2 on Friday

Tuesday, September 3

reviewed the last two lessons;
quiz 2.2 tomorrow;
test over chapter 2 on Friday

Monday, September 2

discussed inequalities in two dimensions;
p. 135 #8-16, 22, 24, 30, 32 even


Friday, August 30

discussed the quiz over the first half of chapter 2;
discussed function translations and transformations;
p. 127 #4-8, 16-22 even

Thursday, August 29

quiz over the first half of chapter 2;
read:  pp.123-126 (transformations and translations)

Wednesday, August 28

discussed scatter plots and correlation;
reviewed the first half of chapter 2;
quiz tomorrow over the first half of chapter 2

Tuesday, August 27

discussed scatter plots and correlation;
worked examples from the problem set using a spreadsheet;
pp. 117-118 #4-18 even

Monday, August 26

discussed direct variations;
worked examples from the problem set;
pp. 109 #4-28 even


Friday, August 23

discussed point-slope form of linear equations;
worked examples from the problem set;
pp. 101-102 #4-16, 20, 22, 30-36 even

Thursday, August 22

discussed slope-intercept form and standard form of linear equations;
p. 93 #4-16, 24-28, 32-36 even

Wednesday, August 21

did a % grade activity out on campus;
read:  pp. 89-92

Tuesday, August 20

discussed previous problem set;
discussed linear functions and slope;
86 #4-14, 18-26 even

Monday, August 19

discussed test 1;
discussed properties of functions;
76-79 #16-38 even


Friday, August 16

test 1;
read:  pp.72-76 (functions)

Thursday, August 15

reviewed chapter 1;
test 1 tomorrow

Wednesday, August 14

discussed yesterday’s quiz;
discussed the homework on the absolute value function;
finish up pp. 55-56 #4-20, 44-50 even;
test 1 on Friday

Tuesday, August 13

quiz over what we’ve done so far;
discussed the absolute value function;
worked examples from the homework set;
pp. 55-56 #4-20, 44-50 even

Monday, August 12

discussed graphing linear inequalities;
worked examples from the homework set;
pp.44-47 #4-32, 62-72 even


Friday, August 9

discussed solving multi-variable equations;
worked examples from the homework set;
pp.30-32 #4-14, 18-26 even

Thursday, August 8

discussed/reviewed equation solving;
worked examples from the homework set;
pp.21-22 #4-12, 20-28, 34-34, 44-48, 56-60 even

Wednesday, August 7

discussed powers and variables;
worked examples from the homework set;
pp.13-15 #4-48, 60 even

Tuesday, August 6

discussed sets and arithmetic properties;
p.9 #64-80 even

Monday, August 5

explained course content;
reviewed Algebra I concepts;
read:  pp. 2-5